Advertisement

Advertisement

Featured article

Related categories:

Review: Dove Intense Damage Therapy Shampoo and Conditioner

A hair treatment that helps your damaged hair recover

Author: Charlotte Kuchinsky July 7 2009

Dove's Intense Damage Therapy shampoo

Dove products have been around for a long time and the Dove name is one of the most respected names in the industry. It’s a name that was put on the line a few years back when Dove decided to focus heavily on products for women, including soaps, hair care, and beauty products. They also risked their well-known brand by deciding to base their products on the needs of real women, and they went a step further to also feature real women - real mothers, grandmothers, sisters and others – in their advertising.

The gamble has paid off in spades for two reasons. The first is that Dove products reallly are some of the best in the marketplace today. The second is that women who have long been forgotten, push aside or berated suddenly had a real advocate in Dove. And of course the two reasons go hand-in-hand - real women will definitely “try” Dove products because of what they represent. However, if they weren’t great products, their loyalty would stray.

Case in point: Dove’s Intense Damage Therapy Shampoo and Conditioner. These two products are especially made for damaged hair, whether the problem stems from too many hair dyes, highlighting, sun streaking the hair, too many perms or straightners or damage from the elements. Dove’s therapy products are infused with a special serum that works from the inside of the hair shaft out; to repair any damage and strengthen each and every strand. They also give the hair the infusion of moisture it requires to look and feel healthy and shiny. The results speak for themselves with beautiful results each and every time they are used.

article continued
Advertisement

Dove’s Damage Therapy Shampoo and Conditioner can be found in discount department stores, drug stores, and some grocery marts. They are also carried by some beauty boutiques. Retailing for under $5 American dollars, it’s easy to see that this is a real bargain. I did find it made my hair very soft, making it difficult to hold some styles, but apart from that this is a product to be highly recommended.

Comments

Posted on 20/08/09 06:51 by: Divya

Hey, can you please tell me how to use it? Directions to apply are not mentioned on the bottle.
------------
Posted on 20/08/09 14:22 by: Charlie Kuchinsky

For short to medium length hair, use about a nickel size portion of the shampoo. If you have longer hair, use a quarter size portion. Lather it up and massage the scalp well then pull it throughout the hair with a pick or wide tooth comb. Rinse out all of the shampoo before conditioning. Use the same amount of conditioner. Apply it to the hair and work it through to the ends with a pick or wide tooth comb. Put on a shower cap or wrap the head in plastic wrap and let sit for about 5 minutes. Then rinse, dry, and style as usual.
------------
Posted on 21/08/09 10:36 by: Divya

Hi, thanx a lot for your advice!. Just wanted to know: is there any deep conditioner for frizzy hair produced by Dove (can u pls tell the name?), or can I use this conditioner as a deep conditioner? Also pls advise me how to deep condition my hair using this.
------------
Posted on 21/08/09 15:25 by: Charlie Kuchinsky

The Intense Damage Therapy product line is made for hair that has been damaged by time, haircolor, perms, and wear and tear. For deep conditioning, leave the conditioner on for a longer length of time (up to 30 minutes). But be sure the head is covered to hold the body's natural heat in. That will make the product work better. If the ends of your hair are badly broken, make a leave on conditioner for them by mixing a quarter-teaspoon of the conditioner with 10 to 12 ounces of water. Put it into a spray bottle and respray just the ends at least once a day. Good luck!
------------
Posted on 24/08/09 12:28 by: Divya

Hi Charlie... thanks a lot... will try the things advised by u..... do u recommend any dove conditioner for deep conditioning or only intense damage therapy?
------------
Posted on 24/08/09 16:00 by: Charlie Kuchinsky

Intense Therapy is better suited for deep conditioning; however, most conditioners work even better if you allow them to stay on the hair for longer than 5 minutes.
------------
Posted on 14/05/10 02:26 by: shorty

My hair is badly damaged, I have a lot of split ends, really dry hair, frizzy all the time. How long will it take for me to see the results of Dove Intense Damage Therapy Shampoo and Conditioner?
------------
Posted on 20/07/10 08:38 by: nagashree

Hi, my hair is dry and damaged, I want to know how to use Dove Shampoo along with conditioner. I also want to know how long should I leave the conditioner before rinsing it out?
------------
Posted on 26/07/10 14:09 by: Charlie Kuchinsky

Unfortunately, no shampoo or conditioner works miracles overnight. It may take as long as a month to see any real change in your hair with regard to frizz and split ends - particularly true if you do not condition regularly as well, shampoo alone will take months to make a difference. I always leave the conditioner in for the maximum amount of time recommended on the bottle, rather than the minimum.
------------
Posted on 08/08/10 22:52 by: Hi Ra

Hi, I've been using Dove's Shampoo and Conditioner for about a month and a half now. My hair is falling out and becoming very thin. Will Dove make it become thick and full again?
------------
Posted on 11/08/10 17:32 by: Charlie Kuchinsky

Hi Ra, I don't believe any shampoo or conditioner can do a lot to help hair that is falling out like mine. However, I have discovered a wonderful vitamin called Healthy Skin, Hair and Nails that seems to be working wonders for me. Although I bought my from Andrew Lessman on Home Shopping Network, my stylist said that most major drug stores carry something very similiar. You might try that in conjunction with your Dove and see how it works. So far, I'm liking the whole package together.
------------
Posted on 19/08/10 07:26 by: Ekta

Hi, my hair is very thin & split at the ends, can you suggest a Dove product for that? Can you also pls elaborate on this vitamin that makes hair thick?
------------
Posted on 19/08/10 08:49 by: Joyce

Is it okay to mix products, if I use Dove today but tomorrow I use another product?
------------
Posted on 22/08/10 14:27 by: Charlie

Ekta, I'd try one of Dove's Damage Therapy shampoos based on your hair type, what you want to achieve, and the extent of your hair damage. For example, for myself I would choose Damage Therapy with Volume because my hair is also thin and limp. Hope this helps.
------------
Posted on 11/10/10 06:13 by: Ramya

Hi, my hair is dry and I have split ends. But now I am using Dove Intense Damage shampoo and conditioner. Will it work for my hair?
------------
Posted on 08/11/10 19:55 by: fen

I have just brought the dove damage therapy, the newer one. I was just wondering, my hair has been falling out a lot recently, and I feel it's thinning, it used to be really think, would using this help stop the amount that falling out? I have a good diet, I hardly use heat on my hair, or even hair spray, hope you can help!
------------
Posted on 02/03/11 05:29 by: sidra

I just bought the deep conditioning treatment from Dove, and have no idea how to use it. Would you be able to help me?
------------
Posted on 14/04/11 12:01 by: aishwarya

My hair is rough, dry and weak. How long will I have to use Dove and how many times a week?
------------
Posted on 15/04/11 13:01 by: Charlie K

Aishwarya, it will vary from person to person but you will need to give it at least a month. If you don't notice a difference by then, washing a couple of times a week, then Dove might not work for you. I'd give it that long before giving up though.
------------
Posted on 17/04/11 02:54 by: Diana

I have been really considering getting a straight perm done on my hair. My hair is wavy/curly and I flat iron it, I have a little bit of split ends and it's dry from the flat ironing. I do use heat protected spray, Herbal Essences LTR, but I don't know if it will be a good idea to use it after a straight perm...? Also will my hair be more damaged by the perm or by being flat ironed?
------------
Posted on 25/04/11 13:08 by: Charlie K

Diane, without actually seeing the condition of your hair, it is hard to say which - flat iron or perm - might be more damaging. Let me first ask what type of flat iron you use. If it isn't one of the newer ceramic ones that provide some protection, you might consider switching to that before considering a straightening perm. If you keep your hair as is and can flat iron it safely, it may give you a lot more options than a flat perm will. You'll temporarily lose all those luscious waves and curls. If you are set on the perm, then I suggest visiting a hairdresser just for a hair assessment before proceeding. You may need to cut your hair before perming or take on some heavy duty conditioning ahead of time.
------------
Posted on 10/05/11 08:17 by: mallika

Does Dove help in getting rid of dandruff in any way? I have really dry and frizzy hair too.
------------
Posted on 10/05/11 17:12 by: Charlie

Mallika, I'm not aware of Dove making a dandruff shampoo. I know the one I wrote about doesn't help with that problem. Sorry!
------------
Posted on 30/05/11 13:27 by: Judy Willis

I'm very pleased with this product... wonderful!
------------
Posted on 23/07/11 20:37 by: EARL BAILES

I would like to know how to get the top to open and put on the lotion?
------------
Posted on 02/08/11 14:08 by: Pari

Hi. I have hairfall problem and my hair is even dry. Can you recommend me any Dove shampoo and conditioner?
------------
Posted on 15/08/11 13:30 by: Charlie

Pari, Dove makes a hair fall shampoo and condition that contins a serum to help hair of yours (and my) type. It comes in a kind of pinky brown bottle.
------------
Posted on 26/08/11 21:41 by: fari

Should I use this shampoo and conditioner regularly or once in a week?
------------
Posted on 28/08/11 14:46 by: Jasmine

Hey Charlie, I have been facing the problem of falling of hair, dry hairs and split ends in the last few months. Will Intense Repair work for my problem?
------------
Posted on 29/08/11 14:59 by: Charlie

Jasmine, it is hard to say for certain that it will work for you. Everybody responds differently to things. However, I think it's worth a try given that it is relatively inexpensive.
------------
Posted on 04/11/11 22:24 by: Batgirl

Hi! I've been having hairfall issues for a long time now. I'm 19 and weigh 42 kgs. I've tried alot of things forr my hair. Almond oil, olive oil, eating almonds, apples, bananas, carrot juice, orange juice. Everything healthy, though I do have junk food as well. But there's not much improvement in my hair. I'm using Sebamed hairfall shampoo but just bought this Dove shampoo. Reading people's reviews I'm not too sure if I should go ahead. And I really don't know what else to do for the hairfall. Can you give any advice?
------------
Posted on 17/11/11 10:38 by: Charlie

Batgirl, you've probably been using one of the better shampoos already. While it's doubtful Dove can hurt your hair, everyone's is different and will experience differing levels of success. Just keep that in mind.
------------
Posted on 30/08/12 07:29 by: amber

I have been using the dove damage therapy intensive repair for about a month now and every time I wash it and brush it afterwords I have a big ball of hair! Is that normal? I'm starting to worry! because I have never lost this much hair ever!
------------

Add your comment

Product Detail

  • Product Name: Dove
  • Price: $5.00
  • Manufacturer: Intense Damage Therapy Shampoo and Conditioner
  • Specifications:

    12 oz

  • Verdict:

    Pro: This product works well to restore the health and luster of color-treated or over-processed damaged hair

    Con: Can make the hair too soft if used daily, making it difficult to hold a style

    Overall: great value for money

  • Rating:rating 4/5

Newsletters

Get our monthly newsletter!

Related articles

Facial hair removal for women - what are your options?

A review of both permanent and temporary methods of removing unwanted facial hair

Review: InStyler Rotating Hot Iron Hair Straightener

A combination curling and flat iron that promises much

Blondes, brunettes, and redheads: who really has more fun?

Changing your hair color? Which way should you go?

Product Reviews

Read more reviews.

Top Stories

Making the most of your eye color

Make-up and fashion tips to make your eyes sparkle

Are you drinking enough water?

Avoid the perils of dehydration

Beauty through the ages - what comes next?

A look at where current beauty trends may go in the 21st century

Got something to say?

We are looking for authors! Submit an article.

Advertisement